the Sôgmô

The Office of the Sôgmô is the Sandum monarchy, one of the three branches of the Sandum republic. This branch takes care of all primary administrative functions of the Central People’s Government and is citizens’ primary daily interface with our micronation.

As the founder of Sandus, the Honourable Sôgmô Gaius Soergel Publicola represents Sandus globally and is the guardian of our constitution and docent of our national philosophy.

the Office of the Sôgmô

All power is to the Sôgmô.

— Article 3 of the Founding Law

The Office of the Sôgmô is the highest office of government in Sandus and governs the entirety of Sandus and the Central People’s Government. The current Sôgmô is Gaius Soergel Publicola, the founder of the Sandum nation-project who created our predecessor Sandefreistikhan on 26 May 2009. Sôgmô is a Western Abenaki word from the Algonquin language family of Northeast American Indigenous Peoples and means chief, though it is often translated to “first citizen” in Sandus. Coming from the adjective “sôgela,” meaning hard or strong, the Sôgmô is the strongest component of the entire State system as the legitimate and elected leader of the People. The Sôgmô is the most active citizen in Sandus, being the main participant in all of Sandus’s policies, plans, and projects and is the leading worker of many cooperatives.

Though the Sôgmô is the main benefactor of modern Sandus, having created much of Sandus as it is today, the Sôgmô has worked and continues to work for the creation of an interdependent community of citizens in Sandus, motivated by the vision set forth in the Sandum Philosophy. Under the Sôgmô’s transformational leadership since 2011 with the Foundation of the State of Sandus, Sandus has pioneered an independent culture, discovered its Philosophy, and has worked to create a democratic and socialist country. Since September 2011, the Office of the Sôgmô is an elected monarchy whose legitimacy to govern is checked annually by a national referendum held on the Winter Solstice and the Sôgmô has enfranchised the Citizens’ Communist Party of Sandus—our sole political party—into the Sandum government to operate as both a democratic forum for Sandum Citizens and as an advisory body for Socialism in Sandus.

Under the Sôgmô’s reign, the Sandum government has grown to encompass two different definitions regarding our system of government, known in Sandus colloquially as the Dual Definition theory: in one regard, the Sôgmô can be seen as a constitutional monarch; however, in modern Sandus today, the Sôgmô can also be seen as a republican office through the creation of a system of checks and balances, the creation of a meritocratic elite with active Sandum citizens, and the formation of Sandum democracy through elections, the Council, and the People’s rights.

the Honourable Sôgmô
Gaius Soergel Publicola

GovermentLogo S8gm8
Signature of the Office of the Sôgmô featuring þess signature and pronouns

The Sôgmô is like any other citizen. They are afforded the same rights as all citizens, and það views þess leadership as being a collective mandate with the People. The Sôgmô seeks the People’s opinions on matters of State governance, often through direct and informal questions and queries to active citizens and other times by making motions in the Council. On several dates throughout the year, however, the Sôgmô also meets directly with the People and encourages the People to exercise their right to petition the government on and around the Equinoxes, Solstices, and the CPS Party Congress which takes place around 7 November. Since 2014, the Sôgmô has also cooperated with and received advise on þess government from the Council, Sandus’s direct democratic assembly.

In Sandus, the Sôgmô is an active member of the Collegium Sacerdotium, the Party, and the economic cooperatives of Tellus and Erganê. The Sôgmô is the Sacer Flamen of the Collegium Sacerdotium, a position seen as fons culturae, and is the manager of Tellus. The Sôgmô is also the Sovereign of the Most Honourable Order of the Throne of Sandus, the sole honour and award of the State of Sandus. Under þess tenure since 2011, the Sôgmô has envisioned the tripartite Sandum Philosophy; the three Sandum political theories of LiberaRealism, and Philia; and has established the 2015 Economic Goal, the «All-Citizens United» Plan, the Anticosti Ideal, the leitourgía and liaison programs, the Building Democracy Plan, and various economic year plans for Sandus. As the leader of the State of Sandus, það has incorporated the Party into the Central People’s Government; created the plan and set about the national referendum for the direct democratic Council; and promulgated two economic cooperatives (Tellus and Erganê) and one cultural cooperative (the Collegium Sacerdotium), two authorities (the Sandum Cultural Authority and the Sandum Language & Style Authority), three institutions (Kremlum Sandus State Press, Kremlum Sandus State College, and the Royal Library of Sandus), one bureau (the Bureau of the Treasury), two provinces (Kremlum Sandus and Sandus Ulterior), the Ministry of Diplomatic Affairs, and the constitution of the State of Sandus. Það has developed the Sandum-specific Sancta culture and has led to a new cultural renaissance through a trilingual policy incorporating English, French, and another cultural language. From 2010 to 2015, this cultural language was the Sandum constructed language, Sancta, but is now Latin.

In addition to being the Sovereign of the Most Honourable Order of the Throne of Sandus (SOTS), Sovereign of the Honourable Order of Athena Pronoea as a Member of the order (MΑθΠ), and seigneur of the Ordre annonaire fraternel du Bol en bois, það has received numerous awards and medals and is a member of multiple honorific orders. Það has been awarded the following honours:

  • Grand Cordon with Collar in the Hrafnarfjallian Order of Polaris
  • Knight Commander in the Westarctican Order of the Snowflake
  • Knight in the Renasian Order of Bohr (KOB)
  • Knight in the Überstadti Order of the Fir (KOF)
  • Knight in the Überstadti Most Noble Order of the Hawk (KOH)
  • Knight in the Aigues-Mortais Grand Princely Order of the Pink Flamingo
  • Knight in the Angyalistani Order of the Golden Sextant
  • Knight in the Castinian Order of Louis-Philippe the First
  • Stranger Knight in the New Virginian Noble and Illustrious Order of Saint Marinus
  • Knight in the Misberian Order of the Star of the Sea
  • Knight in the Kossian Royal Order of the Jaguar
  • Cavaliere in the St.Charlian Order of the Blue Star (OBS)
  • Member in the Castinian Order of the Double Samara
  • Member in the Nordalian Order of the Angel
  • Companion of the Order of Uskor
  • Companion of the Yablokan Order of the Falcon
  • Desert Palm Medal from the Republic of Molossia
  • Medal for Friendship from the Kingdom of Überstadt
  • Medal for a Better, Weirder World from the Aerican Empire
  • Medal of Freedom from the Kingdom of Jupiter and the Greater Territories
  • Medal of Friendship from the Grand Duchy of Danduros
  • Presidential Citation Ribbon from the Federal Republic of St.Charlie (PCR)
  • Distinguished Micronational Service Award from the House of Homestead
  • Certificate of Honor from the Kingdom of Pibocip
Það at the 2017 OMF Summit in Vincennes, France

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s