the State

The State of Sandus is the current government of Sandus. Its Founding Law, the basic law of the present unwritten constitution, was ratified on 13 April 2013. The Founding Law granted all governmental power to the Sôgmô (Abenaki: “King”), proclaimed Sandum Philosophy and Socialism in Sandus, granted rights to citizen, and established the Socialist system of Sandus. Since the ratification of the Founding Law, several important new institutions and practices have been added to the constitution of the State of Sandus and today the State of Sandus is a fully developed republic.

Today, there are three political branches of the State of Sandus: the Sôgmô, the Citizens’ Party of Sandus, and the Council. The economy comprises a fourth branch, while a nascent litigation system is forming. The different branches have no clear enumerated powers, and all three perform executive and legislative functions. The Sandum constitution is unwritten, meaning that all the laws, customs, and agreements made between citizens are constitutive of the State of Sandus.


In Sandus today, the government is headed by the Honourable Sôgmô Gaius Sörgel Publicola, who became Sôgmô upon the ratification of the Founding Law of the State of Sandus on 13 April 2011. The State of Sandus has its seat of government in the territorial claim of Kremlum Sandus Province, a gradient sovereign condominium located in the central Maryland region of North America. The State of Sandus is often regarded as either an elective monarchy or as a republic thanks to the Dual Definition theory. While the Office of the Sôgmô governs the State of Sandus as an elective monarchy, it is checked both by the People of Sandus, through democratic outlets such as the Winter Solstice election and the direct democratic Council, and by the Citizens’ Communist Party of Sandus, an enfranchised political organ in Sandus that is both a democratic forum and a Socialist advisory body.

The State of Sandus is Sandus’s longest extant regime, lasting from 13 April 2011 until the present; the other six historical regimes of Sandus existed from 2009 to 2011. Sandus is a Socialist nation-state that exists under the work of the Sandum Philosophy of Buddhism, Socialism, and Sancta and under the three Political Theories of LiberaRealism, and Philia. The State of Sandus has pioneered multiple plans, projects, and programs in order to meet its Philosophical background and needs, such as the 2015 Economic Goal or the «All-Citizens United» Plan.

Dual Definition Theory

The “dual definition” is a theoretical term describing the Sandum form of government as defined both by monarchy and by republicanism. Historically established as a monarchy in April 2011 and made into an elective monarchy only five months later in September, Sandus also began to develop a system of checks and balances and little by little formed itself into a classical republic. That December, the Citizens’ Party of Sandus was enfranchised as a cooperative in Sandus tasked with being a national parliament and advocating for Socialism in Sandus. The republican process came to a head in January 2015, however, when the Council of the State of Sandus was established, becoming Sandus’s direct democratic assembly.

Today, the dual definition continues to define Sandus, even though we today think of Sandus as a republic. The Sôgmô is still seen as primus inter pares and is still referred to as a royal. Það has established a system of nobility, and is the sovereign of Sandus and Sandus’s fons honorum—two terms that refer to monarchs. But not to be overtaken, the Sandum people are also known as the Sovereign People, referring to Sandus’s long-held belief in popular sovereignty.

These two adversarial directions in Sandum government help to contribute to the stability of the Sandum State.

History of the State of Sandus

In May 2011, the first cooperative in Sandus, the Collegium Sacerdotum which deals with the development of Sandum culture, was founded. In September, the Sôgmô passed a law that guaranteed annual elections on the Sôgmô’s reign and that founded the offices of the Sanôba/Phanem Representative (representing the People of Sandus) and the Comrade Representative (representing the Citizens’ Communist Party of Sandus); these offices were disbanded in February 2012 but the aspiration for was set to form a tripartite constitution.

The Citizens’ Communist Party of Sandus, the sole political party of Sandus that has existed since the June 2009, was enfranchised into the Central People’s Government of Sandus in December 2011. Its initial task was to serve as a democratic forum for the Sandum People and as an advising organisation for Socialism in Sandus but, after the Council was founded in 2015, the Council took over the responsibility of serving as a direct democratic assembly. Nevertheless, the Party’s power remains as the leading planning organ of the State of Sandus and it still represents the Sandum working class.

On 10 March 2012, the Office of the Sôgmô enacted the Act on Citizenship of Martio MMXII – which created the province system, the citizenship divisions, and the former Courso d’Honourae which was responsible for selecting officials of the government. On 17 March 2012, the Act on Foreign Affairs of Martio MMXII was enacted – a law that codified Sandus’s foreign affairs policies up to that date. Those were the last formal laws to be enacted by the Office of the Sôgmô, laws that are now known as the Antiqué laws. Until July 2013, no further formal laws were enacted.

Over that time, however, the activity of cooperatives grew and began to encompass other institutions and authorities derived from the constitutional basis of cooperatives. New newspapers were made for the Party and for the Collegium Sacerdotum, Voice of Sandus and Sacerdotium respectively.

In early 2013, the active population of Sandus fell off sharply, leaving the State of Sandus to change some of the previous constitutional practices dating from the enfranchisement of the Party. The biannual congresses of the Party were made annual and, when in October 2013 it became apparent that the Party could not feasibly hold a congress, an intermicronational conference was held. The first bureau, the Bureau of the Treasury, was established on 2 July 2013 as a part of Sandus’s plan to develop ministries under the Office of the Sôgmô. Two years later, on 18 August 2016, the first ministry was established with Jacob Barnet Pharmacologus Σαρκαστικός as minister of Diplomatic Affairs. On 28 July 2013, the Courso d’Honourae system, which sought to develop junior officers in Sandus, was disbanded and new guidelines surrounding Socilivae citizens and states were enacted. Today, after Latin was made Sandus’s official language, we call them social citizens and states.

On 17 October 2013, the Commonwealth of Kumano became a formal social state upon the ratification of the Treaty for the Sociliva State of the Commonwealth of Kumano. On 10 July 2014, the Kingdom of Überstadt also became a social state, and all three states established an independent “Social System” on 14 September 2016. While Kumano eventually collapsed and some citizens became full Sandum citizens, or cives, Überstadti and Sandum citizens live in their associated nations in close friendship and fraternity. In July 2019, both Sandus and Überstadt decided to form the Borean Community with the Republic of Saint-Castin, a community associated with the Social System that encourages coöperation and solidarity with other North American micronations.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s