Administrative Calendar to be modified

The administrative calendar of the State of Sandus has been the Sancta calendar since 2011 when the then-Governor of the Territory of Sandus, a dependent member of the St.Charlian Commonwealth, applied its use to all governmental business in the entire territory of Sandus. Nearly four years since then, however, the administrative calendar will be modified to a hybrid of the Sancta and Gregorian calendars.

The Sancta calendar keeps the same dates and months as the Gregorian calendar, though it possesses an eight-day week and its new year is I Martio (1 March), following the tradition of the ancient Roman religious calendar. While the Sancta calendar has been used for both the cultural and administrative calendars of the State of Sandus for four years now, especially since the creation of the Collegio Sacerdae in May 2011, the State of Sandus will reinstate a modified Sancta-Gregorian calendar for the administrative calendar only; the cultural Sancta calendar will continue to be used by the Collegio Sacerdae and for cultural holidays.

In the new hybrid administrative calendar, 1 January will become the first day of the administrative year while the calendar will keep the eight-day administrative week. The names of dates will reflect both the Sancta and Gregorian dates, such as “ThursdayA January 2015″ or “Friday 20 February 2015″ — the date of the Day of Secession —, where the days of the Gregorian and Sancta weeks are italicised. The simplified version will be simply “1 January 2015” or “20 February 2015.”

The Collegio Sacerdae, however, will continue to keep the traditional Sancta calendar dating system and, furthermore, all official and public celebrations of cultural holidays will have to be made in the Sancta calendar. For example, any future news article from Veritum Sandus about the Sancta New Year on 28 February/1 March will have to be made in the traditional way: XXVIII D Februario MMXIV or I A Martio MMXV. This regulation will be applied even to cultural holidays that serve quasi-administrative functions, such as the Armilustrium, the Day of Secession, or Remembrance Day.